12 Things Learned in 2013 (Add On, Reader!)

31 Dec

me writing 1) Driving across country isn’t that hard. 2) Starting a new life isn’t that hard. 3)Not looking back is hard:IMG_1339 my desk

4) Two things are sacred in Beverly Hills:

poodle in SUV     Large cars and small dogs. (This is Spinky-Spanky, mayor of BH.)

Oh, one other sacred thing:

Dr T

5) If  you invite a man to see how cool your little apartment is, the message is: “Make Haste! The only reason for renting this place, Fool, was for you to bed me!”

There is no photo of this. (Got ugly.)

6) The sea is balm for uncertainty and loneliness:

me in sea

7) House cleaning is little different out here:

topless maids

8) Christmas is a little different out here:

santa and me

little xmas tree

Christmas beach with Nic and Noah

9) The Play Boy Office looks like this:

playboy officer(Had a meeting with Hef; I was pitching an issue on menopause.) (Yeah, Got ugly.)

10) Some people keep turning up in my life, over and over:

Melissa on bday      Former student, current friend, and adopted daughter (don’t tell her parents).

Peggy, Pasties, me     Former and current babysitter.

Nic at pool     Former, current, and forever dear friend.

Angel, Devil, etc.    The usual (archetypal) suspects, stalking me coast to coast.

11) And some people keep reading my blog: Thank you, Dear Reader! Tell me something you’ve learned this year?

12)

Nick Metropolis                                                                    HAPPY NEW YEAR’S!!!

9 Responses to “12 Things Learned in 2013 (Add On, Reader!)”

  1. maw14747 December 31, 2013 at 10:18 pm #

    Three things: 1) Kirsten has legs that won’t quit. Keep up the good work! 2) She still needs a babysitter. Luckily she has one (sometimes) nearby. Still 50 cents/hour. 3) Reading her is a treat. xox moi

    Like

    • kwasson2012 January 1, 2014 at 11:00 pm #

      Thank you for the great response! You should raise your rates. Happy New Year!

      Like

  2. Elizabeth Sachs December 31, 2013 at 10:53 pm #

    1. It’s really amazing to know Kirsten again–and to realize, again, that we can dig into a subject and wind up in China, laughing (and upside-down, in a verrrrrry refreshing way). 2. Getting older this year seems to have something to do with looking more and more like John Lennon–and not minding (???) 3. Jogging can, easily, be taken up at 50, and in fact jogging doesn’t have to mean anything more than jogging for a while, stopping until a person feels like jogging again, and then doing so. Rinse and repeat. Higher education is, definitely, going to hell in a hand basket. But wait–I already knew that. 4. Reading Kirsten is a treat. (Hm–is that original to me? I. . . guess so. . . 🙂 )

    Like

    • kwasson2012 January 1, 2014 at 11:02 pm #

      I love everything you said. . .but John Lennon? Hope you had a fun New Year’s Eve, and thank you so much for reading!

      Like

  3. Sherry Thomson January 1, 2014 at 2:05 pm #

    “Laughing” is the best tour guide to inside-Hollywood! Stay on the tour for the whole ride. I really appreciated the “fix-my-body” list with prices. I’ve long said that when I win the lottery, I’ll have my leprechaun trimmed to a size more appropriate for my head. Now that I’ve learned how necessary and cheap miracles can be, I won’t have to wait for a lottery win.

    Like

    • kwasson2012 January 1, 2014 at 11:04 pm #

      Leprechauns should remain unmodified. . .in my opinion. Thank you so much for reading. . .and Happy 2014!!!!

      Like

  4. elainemansfield January 2, 2014 at 4:15 pm #

    Laughing. Best thing about living on a hill in the Finger Lakes–getting snowed in. There is nothing to do but read your blog and finish that epilogue. I’m with you on #6, but outside anywhere works for me, even in a blizzard in my snowpants with only my eyes sticking out of the layers. Maybe I’m distracted by shivering. And I’ve learned I can take a huge pile-on of loss and other’s troubles (some also become mine) and keep right on dancing. You keep dancing with those friends, Kristen.

    Like

    • kwasson2012 January 2, 2014 at 6:10 pm #

      How is that epilogue? Love the image of you with only your eyes
      visible. . .Here’s to dancing in snowpants!

      Like

  5. Your adopted daughter January 3, 2014 at 6:32 pm #

    Some things I’ve learned this year: 1. I have more strength (and cohones) that I thought I did. 2. If I’m not happy, I will make a change. If that change doesn’t make me happy, I will change again. 3. I will forever be a part of your life. (Aka you can’t get rid of me!) 4. I love an adventure.

    Thank you for including me in this blog. Love you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

