New Life furniture

10 Dec

On Sunday, while grading, cleaning the kitchen and talking to  son Noah about his search for an apartment in Queens or Brooklyn, I bought furniture  for my new life in Beverly Hills.  I bought it from the tenant about to leave her life there (Where does one go from Beverly Hills?)  This furniture is cute twenty-something girl stuff worth much much more than I paid for it; this blessing thanks to Natasha, my dear friend from junior high who lives across the hall from my place; needless to say, she helped me to get the apartment too.

Natasha, beautiful, model thin, and long, glistening matching  hair and legs seduces and wins wherever she goes; it’s intimidating, but you want to be under her sun. And I will be her hall-mate, Holy Mole! Best friends at 13, we are still  effective at irritating  family, friends, and elevator passengers for talking and laughing too loudly. My furniture was purchased from a young woman named Desiree. Her coffee table has moons and stars sprayed on it.  I need to change my name. Suggestions welcomed! 

How do you go from Middle-aged  East Coast English Professor to Still Spunky Wheatgrass Juice-selling L.A. Adeventurer?  The names that come to mind are those I might have given to a daughter:  Sidonie, Maeve, Belah. Thank God I didn’t have a girl to saddle with my romantic fantasy names.  Noah is thinking about changing his name for his forthcoming New York adventure  to Rebeun. His dad and I actually considered that name.  .  .grandparents intervened.

Jimmy Gatz became James Gatsby–talk about a romantic fantasy that doesn’t end well. By a certain calculation I should become Fluffy Pennsylvania, but. . . well, it’s really not about the name, it’s about the new life and activities: speaking my mind, finding inapproriate fun. Oh yeah, I do that here. Still, LA will be different! I have the furniture to prove it! Thanks, Desiree.

5 Responses to “New Life furniture”

  1. elainemansfield December 10, 2012 at 9:17 pm #

    When did this happen, Kirsten? Must be fairly recent since Noah is on his own. Or is it an alternate life in an alternate world? No matter when or where, I look forward to the next installation. You’re on an LA adventure, and I’m hitching a ride.
    Elaine http://elainemansfield.com/

    Like

  2. Barbara December 19, 2012 at 9:18 am #

    I want to see that coffee table. And I miss you. Love your beautiful writing.

    Like

  3. carol le seure December 20, 2012 at 12:06 am #

    Hi Kirsten,
    Sherry and I spent Monday evening eating beef tenderloin, Royal Riviera Pear salad, and drinking her wine. Lovely to see her again.

    I do enjoy the blog. A picture of the furniture would be a treat. And tell us why you’re in the City of Angels.( I found out 15 minutes ago that my Uncle Joe died there in 1961. How’s that for a coincidence? No one in my family had ever set foot in California, and now I wish I’d been born of Joe rather than the more conventional Ed who stayed around Chicago.) I sound ever so slightly loopy!

    While you’re on the New Life furniture, tell me why you have the new life.

    Carol

    Like

    • kwasson2012 December 20, 2012 at 3:56 pm #

      Carol,
      It’s an adventure I’ve planned for a while–just 6 months there, an experiment. Three friends from Urbana live there!
      When I figure out how to put photos in, I will include one of table and other things!
      Great to hear from you!
      Kirsten

      Like

  4. maw14747 February 4, 2013 at 6:26 am #

    If you’re Fluffy Pennsylvania, I’m Peanut Pennsylvania and yes, we are sometimes too loud in elevators. But that’s what comes from living in the corn fields. No one would listen to us and we forget that our voices carry. Glad your voice is carrying so far and that you’re living so close (hey, it’s LA – 45 minutes without traffic is close) to my home.

    Like

Leave a Reply

